Friday, May 11, 2012

Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal Awarded to Members of the Society

NANAIMO, BC, May 11, 2012 - The Society, the President, the Chair of the Honours & Awards Committee (Robert D. Watt) and the committee members wish to convey congratulations to the members awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. The RHSC was allotted an incredible 37 medals.

These were carefully distributed as a result of numerous discussions by the H&AC members, Robb Watt and the Society's President for weeks during the earlier part of this year. The selection process employed was one that was fair and efficient, allowing the Society to acknowledge worthy individuals and to submit the citations in a timely manner.
A special thank you must be conveyed to the Usher of the Black Rod and Canadian Secretary to the Queen, Kevin MacLeod who was our special guest at the banquet, Saturday evening on May 5 at the RHSC 46th AGM and Conference in Nanaimo. He not only delivered an engaging speech, he also posed for a series of portraits of his presenting the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal to each of the recipients present at the dinner following his speech.

The names of the individuals awarded are in alphabetical order: Allan Ailo; Allan Bird; Jocelyne Biron; Claire Boudreau, AIH, FRHSC; D'Arcy Boulton, AIH, FRHSC; Cathy Bursey-Sabourin, FRHSC; Blair K. Churchill; Patrick Crocco; David M. Cvet, FRHSC (Hon); Darren S.A.George, LRHSC; Jonathan Good, FRHSC; Kevin Greaves, FRHSC; Shirley Greenwood; Peter Hannen, FRHSC; Thomas G. Hargreaves; Peter Hogan; David Hovey; Ilona Jurkiewicz, FRHSC (Hon); Darrel E. Kennedy, AIH, FRHSC; Vicken Koundakjin; Carl Larsen; George Lucki; Robert McColgan; Edward "Ted" McNabb, FRHSC; Alex Moseanu; Stephen Murray; John Neill; Laurie Patten, FRHSC; Bruce K. Patterson, aih, FRHSC; David E. Rumball, FRHSC (Hon); Eric Saumure; Robbie D. Sprules; David V. Steeves; Ian Steingaszner, FRHSC (Hon); Auguste G. Vachon, aih, FRHSC; John B. Wilkes, FRHSC (Hon); Robert D. Watt, FRHSC, AIH. Many of the recipients are in the photos above.

Dr. Christopher McCreery was also awarded a medal, but through his work on the Federal Diamond Jubilee Committee.

1 comment:

Lisa said...

What a amazing honor.